A Wicked Weekend

I had a wonderfully wicked weekend!

Saturday started off with a number of errands but after an afternoon of homework my BF and I headed into the city.  I love Washington, DC but one thing I do not love is the Metro Transit System on weekends.  Due to lower ridership it’s a great time to do maintenance, but for those who do use the train, it boils down to long waits, packed cars, and LOTS of tourists.

Tourists (teenagers) on the metro

After a fairly long trip into Union Station, I was delighted to see all of the beautiful cupcakes at Crumbs Bakery when we first entered the station.

How rockin’ do these cupcakes look?  I’ve heard they aren’t the greatest in DC (my vote is for Baked and Wired) but they look awesome!!

We then met up with my cousin in the Union Station food court.  She had a fairly tight itinerary, but it was so good to see her.  Not that it was funny, but she shared about the difficulties she’s faced with her in-laws and sister-in-law.  Of course I hated to hear about what she has gone through but I think it was good for my BF and I to hear.

My BF was learning how to take self portraits. He did great!

After visiting with my cousin, we got back on the red line and headed to Clarendon.  Of course, we had a LONG wait!

Disappointed by the train delay (not really, we were just having fun)

In Clarendon we grabbed a beer at Witlows on Wilson where I had my first Shandy.  Shandy is a beer and lemonade combination and it rocked!! I really, really enjoyed it!  For dinner we used our Groupon to Pete’s New Haven Style Pizza and had a grand ole time!  Clarendon is a cute little spot in Arlington.

Sunday morning we helped Rosco move out of his apartment and then it was back to the books for me.  I have a big project due tonight, so I had to get as much of it done as possible before my BF and I headed out to see Wicked! By 4PM I was finally starting to get hungry and had had just about enough of my school work.  It was time to get dolled up and head out with my beau.

My boyfriend and I enjoy getting dressed up but we don’t do it all that often.  Our idea of a fun night is either a baseball game, weeding through our DVR, watching sports on TV, grabbing a quick bite out, or making turkey burgers in.  We’re pretty chill but we do clean up pretty well!

Before heading to the Kennedy Center we stopped by one of our favorite restaurants, Dogfish Head Alehouse, to grab some dinner.  My BF LOVES their Steak Bomb Sandwich and though I almost always get their Salmon Sandwich I opted for the Alehouse Mac and Cheese.

It was super yummy, with red peppers, sun dried tomatoes, and summer squash.  You could definitely taste the pepperjack cheese!

We kinda had to rush through dinner but it was amazing and I have to say, the company was pretty awesome 😉

The Kennedy Center is such a beautiful venue.  Whether or not you go to see a show, you should definitely visit it when you’re in town.  The architecture is amazing and the history is pretty astounding.  I’ve seen 3 performances at the Kennedy Center and each time I am wowed.

We arrived about 20 minutes before the start of the show, which was perfect.

We snapped a few photos and then headed to our seats.

The photo I got yelled at for taking... oops!

Wicked is an absolutely amazing show. This is the second time I’ve seen it and it’s really good.  My BF enjoyed it as well, which is great considering he just saw the Wizard of Oz for the first time on Friday!!  Earlier this morning my boyfriend wrote me and said “Why do I have that darn “Popular” song stuck in my head?  :-P”, so I know he enjoyed the show!

We had a wonderful weekend, and although I have a lot of school work to get done today and this week, I’m really looking forward to the 4th of July weekend.  I really need to make it out to the pool soon as well!  Nothing says summer like being by the pool side.

Weekly Plan: June 27 – July 3

Workout Plan

Monday- Elliptical and weights before work (oops… have to go after work today)

Tuesday- Spin @ 7AM before work

Wednesday- Off

Thursday- Spin @ 7AM before work

Friday- Elliptical and weights before work

Saturday- Off

Sunday- Run with BF

Meal Plan

Pre-Workout

Post-Workout

Lunch

Dinner

Monday

1 bowl of toasted oat squares and ½ cup blueberries

Watermelon, 1 peach, Justin’s Peanut Butter, Saltine Crackers

Dinner at Faccia Luna with Bible Study Group

Tuesday

mango strawberry protein smoothie

2 hard boiled eggs

TDR

Turkey Burger at Chef Boyfriendo’s

Wednesday

1 bowl of toasted oat squares and ½ cup blueberries

Salad (haven’t decided what yet)

Pasta with meat sauce

Thursday

1 bowl of toasted oat squares

2 hard boiled eggs, peach

leftover pasta with meat sauce

Sushi at Momo

Friday

mango pineapple strawberry protein smoothie

2 hard boiled eggs

TDR

leftover Pasta with meat sauce

Week’s Events

This week should be pretty mellow.  I want to focus this week on getting back into a routine and cranking out some graduate work.  I’m kinda looking forward to a mellow week!

What’s your ideal fun night/date night?  Going out?  Staying in? 

2 Responses

  1. LOVE Crumbs cupcakes! My boyfriend and I get the mini sampler pack all the time and demolish it in a weekend 🙂

    My idea of a fun date night is just walking around town, maybe enjoying a nice meal and a froyo afterwards 🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I can also enjoy a good night on the couch as well!

  2. Fun date night? Nice dinner, maybe a movie if I feel like I can stay awake for it (I load up on coffee first). What we usually do? Sit on the couch. 🙂 But that’s ok too.

Leave a comment