Get-in-Shape Checklist

The trees are starting to change colors here in Washington, DC.

I just love walking to work and passing all of the shades of yellow, red, and orange.

Especially when I have a Starbucks in my hand!

Lets just say I was one happy girl this morning, especially with a 30 minute run under my belt.

While perusing The Knot, I found this awesome Get-in-Shape Checklist.  I LOVE how simple it is.

  • Eat 9 servings of fruits and/or vegetables a day
  • Exercise each day
  • Drink 8 glasses of water
  • Take a multivitamin

Today was my first day using the checklist and I thought it was fantastic.  Eating 9 servings of fruits and/or vegetables was actually really tough.  Here’s what my day looked like…

  • Breakfast – Bowl of Special K cereal with skim milk
  • Snack – Pear
  • Lunch – Veggie patty on 2 slices of potato bread, apple, pumpkin fluff, yogurt
  • Dinner – steak tacos in corn tortillas with pico de gallo and sour cream

When all was said in done, I…

  • Ate 2 servings of fruit and 3 servings of vegetables (5 out of 9 servings)
  • Ran for 30 minutes with Neal this morning
  • Drank 8 glasses of water (8 out of 8 )
  • Took multivitamin and vitamin D

Focusing on eating 9 servings of fruits and/or vegetables really impacted what I ate today.  Looking back I could have added a banana to my bowl of cereal this morning and I could have had either a salad for dinner or the vegetable fajitas.  I also need to make sure I refill my Nalgene water bottle at the start of every work day, it makes a big difference in the amount of water I consume each day.

I really like how I’m feeling, even after 1 day.  Tomorrow (Tuesday), I am going to add fruit to my breakfast, add a veggie to my lunch, and add veggies to my dinner.  With those additions, I should be able to eat my 9 servings of fruits and/or vegetables!

What’s on your get-in-shape checklist?

8 Responses

  1. Wow, I really thought about it, and I don’t eat nearly enough fruits and veggies either. I really thought I did! I definitely have to make that a goal also. And I need to get back on track with exercising and running! I used to run after the kids were in bed…..but now it’s dark at that time and I’m just feeling lazy. Maybe I should get up early and go before work like you do.

  2. 9 servings is HOLY COW SO MANY!!! I don’t think I could do it. But it is a great check list! You’ll be so healthy in no time. 😉

  3. I could probably eat nine servings of fuiji apples right now!! I always plan my meals around my vegetables which helps me get enough servings. I’m not sure if I get 9 servings but since I typically eat a huge salad for lunch, I think I might.

    Good luck with the checklist!! You’ll be super healthy in no time 🙂

  4. […] I continued my Get-in-Shape challenge and am feeling […]

  5. Oh I like the idea. I’ll think I’ll try that. Although 9 servings seems like a lot. How’s it working out?

    • Ill be 100% honest, 9 servings is a LOT (haven’t had that many in a day yet) but I’m just amazed by how differently I feel mentally and physically when shooting for 9 servings is my focus. It affects my food choices in a very positive way! I am really enjoying it.

  6. […] week, my goal is to continue my Get-in-Shape Checklist and to accomplish a lot on my to do list.  I am also having a GIVEAWAY on Tuesday… so stay […]

Leave a Reply

