27th Birthday Recap

I had an amazing birthday!!  This week started out with a bang as Neal proposed on Monday night!  I didn’t think it could get any better… but it really was an amazing week.  Although Neal and I both got really sick this week, living on cloud nine kept my mind off of my runny nose, sore throat and cough.

This morning Neal and I went on a 7 mile run, part of our 15K training.  I was so excited to see a birthday cake on my FT7 this morning!  Too cute!  But today, I wore by new Garmin Forerunner 305!  It was a birthday present from my parents and I just couldn’t wait to use it today.

The weather was absolutely amazing today.  The air was crisp and there was this amazing breeze.  Neal and I started our run along the George Washington Parkway on the Mt. Vernon Trail at mile marker 12.

Our run took us past the airport, around Gravelly Point (right where the airplanes take off and land), and right to the 14th street bridge.

It is so amazing running past the monuments.  Runs like this remind me of why I love Washington, DC so much.

Neal and I had a fantastic run and felt great afterwards!

7 miles

  • Mile 1- 00:11:57
  • Mile 2- 00:11:42
  • Mile 3- 00:11:28
  • Mile 4- 00:11:38
  • Mile 5- 00:12:15
  • Mile 6- 00:11:42
  • Mile 7- 00:11:39
  • Total time- 01:22:24
  • Total calories- 1180 calories burned

Afterwards we headed strait over to Tropical Smoothie Cafe!  Nothing better than an ice cold fruit smoothie after a long run.  Once we were cooled down we headed over to Whole Foods (Kombucha drinks, honeycrisp apples, bananas, NuGo bars, and sunflower butter) and Giant (a few odds and ends).

Once home, we settled in and watched the Redskins game.  Sadly they lost but I got a rockin’ 20 minute nap in during the 2nd quarter!

After the game, Neal and I got dolled up and went out to dinner.  Over the past 2 years, we’ve gone to the Cheesecake Factory for both of our birthdays.  It’s become a birthday tradition I guess.

Dinner was awesome and I’m happy I burned those 1180 calories this morning!  After dinner we headed over to Barnes and Noble where I did a little perusing for wedding ideas.  Here’s what caught my eye…

Place seating board with clothes pins

Antique dinner plate table numbers

Isle decorations-- LOVE!

Reception decorations.. Love Love Love

I had a wonderful 27th birthday!  I’m so thankful for all of the birthday wishes and appreciate all of the wonderful people in my life.  Last year was a lot of fun and I’m really looking forward to all that this year has in store.

I’m starting out today with a 30 minute run with Neal and then am planning to use my free Starbucks birthday coupon before heading into work.  After work I’m having dinner with Randy, the other love in my life!

This week I’m focusing on eating 9 servings of fruits or vegetables a day and drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day.  Two mini goals but I know they can impact my diet in a huge way.   Oh and be sure to check out my 28 goals before turning 28 next year!

Have a very happy Monday everyone!  Any plans this week?  What mini goals do you have this week to impact your health in a very positive way?

4 Responses

  1. Glad you had a great bday. I’m 27 too 🙂

  2. Glad you had a good birthday!! I always love running along the GW trail.

    Your top at dinner is adorable 🙂

    My goal for this week is to focus on tracking my points+ and no late night snacking!!

  3. Happy Happy birthday again! Aren’t Garmins the best birthday presents ever?! Max got me one this year and I’m obsessed. You’ll be cancelling your runs in no time because it isn’t charged…. Garmins are addicting.

Leave a comment