Birthday Week Plan: October 10 – 16

Weekend Recap

  • Friday – I was facing the reality of getting older while enjoying a wicked awesome salad with my friend Becky!

  • Saturday- I had health on the brain and went on a wonderful movie date with Neal
  • Sunday- 6 mile run + trying out a new recipe + finishing a lot of graduate work = A great sense of accomplishment

So I know I’ve been talking about it a lot, but I just love birthdays and I am really excited about my upcoming birthday.  This week is “birthday week”, according to Neal, so I’ve come up with a workout and meal plan but have a lot of ‘?’ towards the end of the week.

I’m also hoping for a great weigh in on Tuesday morning, as I’ve been working hard to watch my portion sizes, incorporate more fruits and veggies, and to avoid binge eating.

Workout

Breakfast

Lunch

Snack

Dinner

Plans

Monday

30 minute run

1 egg, 1 slice turkey bacon, slice of tomato on English muffin

Leftover tuna casserole, banana, yogurt

Pumpkin fluff (see below!!), honeycrisp apple

Bobby’s Burger Palace

DC Outing with Neal after work- MLK memorial and dinner

Tuesday

Weight Lifting

Pumpkin spice bread with peanut butter and sliced banana

Leftover tuna casserole, banana, yogurt

Pumpkin fluff, honeycrisp apple

Salad @ home

The Biggest Loser

Wednesday

4 mile run

1 egg, 1 slice turkey bacon, slice of tomato on English muffin

Leftover tuna casserole, banana, yogurt

Pumpkin fluff, honeycrisp apple

Mexican Acorn Squash with corn and avocado salad

Graduate work

Thursday

Weight Lifting

Pumpkin spice bread with peanut butter and sliced banana

Salad with chicken breast, can of soup

Pumpkin fluff, honeycrisp apple

Leftover Mexican Acorn Squash with corn and avocado salad

?

Friday

35 min run

1 egg, 1 slice turkey bacon, slice of tomato on English muffin

Salad with chicken breast, can of soup

?

?

?

Saturday

Off

?

?

?

?

Iowa vs. Northwestern @ 6PM

Sunday

7 mile run

?

?

?

?

My Birthday—

Woop Woop

One of my favorite snacks to make in the fall is Pumpkin Fluff.  I first learned about pumpkin fluff when I was with Weight Watchers a few years back and have enjoyed making it ever since.  Pumpkin fluff is so easy to make and it is SO tasty!

Pumpkin Fluff

  • 1 box fat free butterscotch pudding mix
  • 1 tub of low fat cool whip
  • 1 can pumpkin

Original Directions

  1. Make box of fat free butterscotch pudding as directed
  2. Stir in can of pumpkin
  3. Fold in cool whip
  4. Serve

Ashley’s Directions

  1. Sir butterscotch pudding powder with can of pumpkin.  The water from the pumpkin is enough to make the pudding in my opinion.

2.    Fold in cool whip

3.    Store in individual serving containers for easy to grab snacks!  I love eating the fluff with apple slices.

4.  Give leftovers to boyfriend.

Happy Monday Everyone!

What’s your favorite fall recipe?  Do you have any birthday traditions?

9 Responses

  1. Good morning! Love your little pre-portioned snacks. 🙂
    Let me ask you something- how often do you completely stick to your weekly eating plan? I personally would find it really difficult to plan out a whole week on Monday… but I’m sure it makes grocery shopping a lot easier and cheaper – having a plan! I sometimes plan out dinner for the week, but if often changes if Greg has to work late or something else comes up.

    • Hey Lauren!

      I really do stick to my weekly plan. I’d say that maybe 1-2 meals are changed up each week, but honestly, because I grocery shop on sunday based on that plan it’s what I stick to unless something comes up. Take last week for example (http://coffeecakeandcardio.org/2011/10/03/zucchini-banana-and-flax-seed-muffin-fail/) I stuck to the entire plan except for thursday and friday night. Thursday night I had a can of soup and Friday night I went to dinner with a friend so I just shifted the tuna casserole to last night.

      Planning really works for me, as a means to save money when grocery shopping and to know what my meals are for the upcoming day. I do try to be flexible though. My downfall though is extra snacking once I’m home. If I can get that under wraps I know I’d feel great.

      Happy Monday!

      • Extra snacking… mindless eating. Being good 99% of the time and sabotaging yourself with that other 1%… story of my life. If I find a way to get MINE under control, I’ll share the keys to the kingdom!
        I’ll be blogging about this today, actually. 🙂

  2. I had totally forgotten about the pumpkin fluff! I think I’ll make some for a party I’m having this weekend. Almost everyone that will be there is on Weight Watchers and will really appreciate it!

  3. I love pumpkin fluff!! Last year I made these pumpkin pie wontons that were delicious! Enjoy your birthday week 🙂

  4. Happy birthday!!!! I’m making pumpkin fluff like right now! On my gosh. It looks so good.

Leave a Reply

