Tuna Casserole and a 6 Mile Run

Today started out just like any other day with a 6 mile run!  The weather was absolutely amazing.  The air was crisp, the sun was warm, and thankfully the trail wasn’t terribly crowded because the Army 10 Miler was going on.

My legs on the other hand, were not in the game.  From the start they were achy, crampy, and just all around tight.  I stopped a few times to get some extra stretching in between miles 1-3 and started to feel better after mile 3.

As I shared last week, it takes me a good 3-4 miles to get warmed up and into the groove.  In the end though, Neal and I ran 6 miles, woop woop!  The longest run of our fall training so far.  I don’t have any splits, but we walked 1/4 mile, ran/walked the 6 miles and then finished with another 1/4 mile walk in 1 hour and 18 minutes.  That’s right in line with our 12 minute mile pace.

I also burned 1118 calories (crazy) and got a nice tan.  Always a plus.  After our run we went grocery shopping and then pick up some smoothies for the ride home.

This afternoon I had every intention of cleaning my house and working on graduate work, but yeah, it didn’t happen.  I started watching the Eagles vs. Bills game and knocked out.  1.5 hours later I was waking up to make dinner for Neal and I.

Over the past month or so, I’ve been trying out one new recipe a week and have not limited myself to “Neal friendly meals”.  Lets just say Neal claims to not be the biggest fan of a lot of different foods, but I’ve made it my mission to try out different recipes with the goal of showing him just how tasty vegetables, for example, can be.

For tonight, I wanted to try out a Tuna Casserole recipe from Everyday Food.  I changed it up a bit, as usual, but here it is.  Oh, and here is the nutritional information.

Ashley’s Tuna Casserole

  • 1 box bow tie pasta
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 2 cans of tuna (drained and flaked)
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • Garlic salt
  • Ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  In a large pot of boiling water, cook pasta 2 minutes less than package instructions.  While the pasta boils, heat oil in pot over medium-high heat.  Add onion and season with garlic salt and pepper.  Cook until softened.

Now my trick is to measure out my flour, milk, and chicken stock ahead of time that way I just have to pour when I am making my sauce.

Add flour to onions and whisk to coat onions.  Slowly whisk in broth, then milk.  Cook, stirring constantly, until sauce comes to a boil.  Reduce head and simmer, stirring frequently, until sauce is thickened (took about 10 minutes for me).  Stir in pasta, tuna, and corn (recipe actually calls for peas) and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Transfer tuna mixture into a baking dish and top with panko bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.  Bake until sauce is bubbling and crust is golden, 20 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes before serving. (sorry, I totally didn’t take a picture of it after it was served).

So I’d like to say that Neal loved this dish, but he didn’t.  I honestly would only give it 2 out of 5 stars.  It didn’t have all that much flavor.  On top of that, Neal hates tuna.  I tried to wait to tell him but he saw the recipe on my computer before hand and I think it took him out of the game mentally.  I really don’t think he would have known it was tuna!   Oh well, first time he’s hated disliked a dish of mine.

Tonight I’m going to work on some graduate work, pack for tomorrow, and do a little planning.  This week is “Birthday Week”, according to Neal, so he has plans for us tomorrow night downtown DC.  I’m really looking forward to it!  OH, and I got an amazing package from Neal’s Mom on Saturday.  She is such a doll and got me some amazing birthday presents.

She got me an umbrella, lanyard, hat box cosmetic case, and the metropolitan bag from Vera Bradley!  I was so incredibly excited and can’t wait to use them.  All of them are in the “happy snails” pattern, too cute!  Thank you Norma, I really appreciate the birthday presents!!

I hope y’all enjoy the last bit of your weekend!  Look out for my Weekly Plan tomorrow morning!

What did you do this weekend? 

2 Responses

  1. […] 6 mile run + trying out a new recipe + finishing a lot of graduate work = A great sense of […]

  2. Cute Vera Bradley presents! I did lots of sleeping, arts/crafts, and reading. All and all very enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

