Health On The Brain

Since waking up this morning, I’ve had health on the brain.  I had a doctors appointment this past week and it solidified the fact that I need to find a new doctor.  On top of that, I’ve been thinking a lot about the passing of Steve Jobs (only 56) and my upcoming birthday.  All in all, my health is on the brain.

(source)

Over the past week I’ve really been considering meeting with a dietitian to talk about my nutrition, food intake, and binge eating.  Today, Neal said to me “if you learn how to control your binge eating I think you’d be amazed at the positive results you’d see in your life” and he’s right.  He also said “You eat so well 99% of the time and I don’t think you realize it.  It’s that 1% that brings you down as you binge eat”.  Again, Neal’s right.  It’s not fair how I allow my binge eating to sabotage all of my healthy eating choices and the amount of exercising I do.  Controlling my binge eating and understanding why I binge eat will be a huge step in my quest to live a happy and healthy life.

For most of my life, I have been classified as being “morbidly obese”.  This has always been hard for me to accept as I see how much muscle I have and how big my bones are.  I mean seriously, you should see how big my clavicle is.  I know that I have a high body fat percentage, but I feel that caliber tests aren’t the best ways to test body fat for me.

This week I’ve been looking into having my body fat percentage tested through the Bod Pod.   This blogger has a great review of the Bod Pod and I think it would be a great test for me to invest in.  With body pod results, I feel like I would be able to accept where my body fat percentage is and move forward with my goal to lose body fat.

Our health is extremely important and I don’t want to look back and think “man, I should have done something about my health a while ago”.  Going to the doctors can be scarey, but it helps to paint a true picture of where your health is and what steps you can take to improve your health.

Last May, I wrote about all of the doctors I have and am thinking about finding some new doctors.  A lot of my doctors are out in Fairfax, VA, as I went to college at George Mason University, and haven’t really felt the need to look for new ones since.  Now that Neal and I are looking to move closer to DC and we both work off of the metro, having doctors closer to work seems like a good idea.

To Do

  • Find new dentist  — Check
  • Find new primary care physician
  • Schedule Body Pod testing
  • Find a Registered Dietitian to meet with
  • Consider acupuncture if my health care covers it

Helpful Websites I’ve Found Today

I hope y’all are having a wonderful Saturday.  Neal and I are watching the Iowa vs. Penn State football game.  Tonight, we’re off to see Moneyball!  I love weekends!

2 Responses

  1. I’m really loving working with a nutritionist. This isn’t the first time I’ve done so, but it has been the first time it has all sunk in. Now, I can evaluate pre-packaged food based on how it compares to actual serving sizes [e.g. 1 serving of carbs = 15 grams] compared to what the company calls a serving size, which helps get past the BS of labels that claim something is healthy, low fat, high fiber, or whatever else.

    Good luck finding a great nutritionist AND a great doctor!

  2. […] I had health on the brain and went on a wonderful movie date with […]

Leave a Reply

