Zucchini, Banana, and Flax Seed Muffin FAIL

I’m really looking forward to this week.  My Dad is in town for a few days and I’m excited to spend some time with him and to show him my apartment.

I was lucky to have my parents close by back in 2007-2008, but they have lived in Texas since then.  I hope and pray that they’ll move back to the DC area in the future, but for now I’ll treasure their business trips here!

I also have two new recipes on the menu for this week:  Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese and Tuna Casserole!!   mmm… I can’t wait to make the Mac & Cheese tonight!

Workout

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

Plans

Monday

35 minute run

Pumpkin spice swirl bread with peanut butter, apple, yogurt

lettuce with chicken breast, can of soup

Butternut squash mac and cheese

Graduate work (big project)

Tuesday

Spin AM and Weight Lifting

Oatmeal with pumpkin butter and peanut butter, yogurt

Leftover butternut squash mac and cheese

Dinner with Dad? or Friends?

The Biggest Loser

Wednesday

3 mile run

1 egg and 2 egg whites veggie omelet

Leftover butternut squash mac and cheese

Dinner with Dad?

Graduate work

Thursday

Weight Lifting

Oatmeal with pumpkin butter and peanut butter, yogurt

lettuce with chicken breast, can of soup

Tuna casserole

Graduate work

Friday

35 min run

1 egg and 2 egg whites veggie omelet

lettuce with chicken breast, can of soup

Leftover Tuna casserole

Nationals baseball game with Team in Training buddies

Saturday

Off

?

?

?

Iowa vs. Penn State: watch at bar

Sunday

6 mile run

?

?

?

Graduate work

Speaking of recipes, I had a total fail last night!  I tried to bake zucchini, banana and flax seed muffins… yeah, total fail. They started out well…

Mixed up smoothly…

But didn’t rise at all.  They were really doughy, though they were cooked the whole way through.  They looked NOTHING like the photo in the magazine but they did taste really good.

I blame it on the baking soda… probably expired.  Either way, it was fun trying a new recipe, though I now have 18 muffins sitting on my kitchen counter.  I didn’t want to bring them into work if they were gross (looking).

Hopefully tonight’s cooking will have a much better turn out!

Have you ever had a baking or cooking FAIL?

8 Responses

  1. I have baking fails all the time mainly because I never follow recipes that well… But hey if it tastes good who cares what it looks like!

    The squash mac and cheese sounds yummy! I really need to do my meal planning!

  2. Will you share your butternut squash mac and cheese recipe? That sounds so good!

  3. I hate it when the zucchini muffins fail! Worst. Muffin. Experience. EVER! I’m sorry.

  4. I am a terrible cook and baker so I’ve had many, many fails in that department 😦
    I really love how organized you are.

  5. Um, almost everything I bake fails because I hate measuring ingredients! I also always try to modify everything to make it lower fat/lower sugar, which does not always agree with baking! You definitely CAN’T always sub out white flour. Boo to that!

Leave a Reply

