Football, Beer, and Shaving

It is a beautiful day here in Washington, DC.  The sun is shinning and there is no rain in sight!

Last night I watched the September 11 Dateline special ‘America Remembers‘ and let me tell you, I was a hot mess.  Although it is hard to watch, it’s important to remember where we all were 10 years ago and to think about all of the people affected by this tragedy.  I had planned to go to bed early last night, but I was sucked into this special and was glad I stayed up to watch it.

(source)

After sleeping in until 8AM this morning, I made a big ol’ glass of iced coffee, poured a bowl of Weetabix with some vanilla almond milk, and began to tackle some graduate work.

It’s really amazing to me how much you can accomplish when you just put your mind to it.  Sometimes it’s so easy to wallow in the thought of how much work you have to do, but if you actually sit down to do it you’ll be amazing how much you can get done in a short amount of time.  I cranked out 1 reading assignment and 3 writing assignments in a little under 2 hours… which was awesome!

I then did something I should have done a LONG time ago…. I shaved my legs.  God bless Neal and his patience with me and my lack of shaving.  I hate shaving.  Hate it.  Again, it doesn’t actually take that long, but it’s such a hassle.  I’m always amazed by women who shave their legs every day… how the heck do you do that?

Now she shaved with confidence!

After a quick run to Whole Foods to pick up some ground beef, hamburger buns, and Fat Tire Neal and I settled in at his apartment to watch the Iowa vs. Iowa State football game.

I love watching sports with Neal, though his stomach is usually in knots when we watch the Hawkeyes.  Over the past three years I’ve learned how to watch games with him…. I leave him alone.  If he wants to talk, he’ll talk.  If he wants something to eat, he’ll ask.  One piece of advice ladies… learned how to watch sports with your loved one.   You’ll both be happier, trust me 🙂 (source)

Happy Saturday!! What are y’all up to today?

2 Responses

  1. Now leave him alone the rest of the day.

  2. The time difference here in Germany is 6 hours so the boys were up all night watching football and are probably going to sleep all day. I’m not a football person at all….

Leave a Reply

