I’m Running in the Rain

Good morning!  Happy Tuesday Wednesday Everybody! 

Yesterday was a rather busy day.  Although I had intended on going to spin class yesterday morning, I headed into work at 6AM to get a jump start on the day.  Having been in Iowa for 5 days, I wanted to make sure I was organized before kicking off a new work week.  I don’t regret not going to spin… work was just calling.

After work I headed to Trader Joe’s to pick up half of my groceries for the week.  I was really good this week, planning out my meals and creating a list based on that meal plan.

I am loving my new meal planning/running system on my refridgerator.  Isn’t funny how the smallest things can make us happy?

After Trader Joe’s I put away my groceries, watched a little baseball, and then headed out with Neal for grocery run number 2.  Neal and I usually go grocery shopping on Sundays, but we had to push it back due to our travels.  At Giant I picked up summer squash and zucchini for tonight’s grilled veggie sandwiches (can’t wait to share), oatmeal, vanilla bean frozen yogurt (another recipe I’m excited to share about later this week), a few fixin’s for Thursday night’s Taco Soup and a few random odds and ends.

It was a really long day, but a good one at that.  I didn’t get a workout in yesterday, but after 2 good runs this weekend I appreciated the day of rest.

Waking up this morning was a little rough!  I set my alarm for 5:20AM and managed to snooze until about 5:50AM.

I know what you’re thinking, I look like a hot mess in the morning!  And yes, you are correct!

With a coffee in one hand and a water bottle in the other, I set out to meet Neal for our 2 mile run.

This morning I used my new gymboss (LOVE this thing) and set it up on a 2:1 interval.  We ran for 2 minutes and walked for 1 minute.  The first mile was strait uphill and we ended up running it in just under 12 minutes, not our finest mile.  The second mile however was roughly a 8:30 mile.  Pretty good!  I’m not sure if it was the rain that made us run faster or the fact that we were warmed up, either way, we felt really good.

I’ve always had my best runs in the rain, for whatever reason.  I think it’s that I focus more on the fact that it’s raining and what’s going on around me, which causes me to stop thinking about how far I’ve run or how my body feels.

I also forgot to take off my mascara last night… Oops!

Today should be a pretty good day!  It’s still raining here in DC, so I’ll probably be indoors most of the day.  After work I’ll be grilling up some veggies for my sandwiches and cranking out some graduate work.  For a second I thought, crap… when am I going to workout today and then it hit me that I ran this morning… woop woop!  This is why I love working out in the morning, despite the struggle some mornings to get out of bed.

Happy Hump Day!  Any plans for this fine Wednesday?

5 Responses

  1. Ha! I forget to take my mascara off all the freakin time!! 🙂

    Happy hump day!

  2. That’s why I love working out in the mornings sometimes too! I get to my normal evening exercise time and realize, hey wait! I already exercized whoo-hoo! Unfortunately the whole “days getting shorter” thing is bumming out my morning running.

  3. I love anything in the rain. Running especially. I can’t believe you got out there so early. you get some major kudos for the early wake up.

  4. I just ordered my Gymboss after reading this. I have a fancy Polar but looking at it is not so helpful and listing for a beep isn’t gonna happen. So I’m really excited to find something simple and well priced. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

