Flying High

Who says you can’t drink wine out of a straw?

OK, maybe not but it was a fun picture!  Last night Neal and I went out to dinner with his parents at the new Italian restaurant in town, Napoli’s.  As they don’t have a booze license yet, we brought our own wine… which was awesome!

The meal started with hot rolls and dinner salads.  For dinner I ordered the chicken cacciatore with spicy marinara sauce.  Neal ordered the sampler, Neal’s mom ordered lobster ravioli, and Neal’s dad ordered a seafood dish (can’t remember the name).

We also ordered a cannoli and piece of strawberry cheesecake for dessert.  The cannoli was so awesome!  I just loved the filling.  I could totally do without the fried pastry, but the filling is just amazing.

This morning Neal and I got up early to get in a run before breakfast.  We headed down Main Street and ran over to Grinnell College.  The campus is beautiful and it is also the site of the first University of Iowa football game.  Although Iowa, formally known as the State University of Iowa (SUI), lost that game it was really cool to see the field where the Hawkeye’s first played.

We ran for about 40 minutes, burning 453 calories and running about 4 miles, give or take (this is why I need the forerunner).  We also ran past some gorgeous houses with beautiful gardens.

After our run Neal and I had breakfast with his parents.  I ordered an omelet with an English muffin and Neal ordered a breakfast combo (pancake, eggs, hash browns, etc.)

I love dining with Neal and his parents though I must admit, I’m looking forward to getting back home to my oatmeal, eggs, salads, and new recipes!

Now we’re at the airport, waiting to fly back home.  I had a wonderful time in Iowa and am so grateful for Neal’s family.  They are so welcoming and it’s amazing to have a great relationship with them!

Weekly Plan

Workout

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

Plans

Monday

20 min run (E) in Iowa (Check!)

Omelet and an English muffin

At the airport…

Traveling back home

Tuesday

Spin AM

Homemade smoothie pre workout, oatmeal and iced coffee post workout

Vegetable stir fry (Trader Joe’s), apple sauce, granola bar

Quinoa and asparagus

Back to work… grocery shopping and organizing things at home after work

Wednesday

2 mile run (E)

1 egg, 2 egg white sandwich, fruit

Leftover quinoa and asparagus

Grilled veggie and goat cheese sandwich

Cooking and graduate work

Thursday

Off

Homemade smoothie pre workout, oatmeal and iced coffee post workout

Grilled veggie and goat cheese sandwich, Figs

Taco Soup and seven layer dip

Dinner with the gang: Planning on making Taco Soup

Friday

20 min run (E) and weight lifting

1 egg, 2 egg white sandwich, fruit

Grilled veggie and goat cheese sandwich, Figs

Leftover taco soup

Enjoy a relaxing Friday night!

Saturday

Off

Pumpkin oatmeal and coffee

Lunch at Neal’s

Leftover taco soup

Alexandria’s Festival of the Arts and Iowa vs. Iowa State game

Sunday

3 mile run with Neal

Protein bar pre workout, post workout ??

Leftover taco soup

Homemade pizza with Neal

Redskins vs. Giants and plenty of graduate work

It looks to be a busy week, but it’ll be good getting back into the swing of things.

Happy Labor Day Everybody!

7 Responses

  1. Only thing is…..University of Iowa at the time was known as the S.U.I. (State University of Iowa) and Grinnell College was known as Iowa College. As you were.

  2. Wow you are so organized with your meals, workouts, etc. I need to follow your lead.

    • Hey Michelle! Welcome to Coffee Cake and Cardio!

      I’ve tried a lot of different thing, but organizing my week like this helps me a lot. Of course things will change sometimes, but it helps me with my grocery shopping to plan ahead and I’m able to mentally prepare for my workout. Let me know if you try this method out.

  3. Your dinner looks delicious especially those huge rolls. Nothing I love more than a huge hunk of warm bread with dinner.

    You are SUPER organized. I might have an idea what I’ll eat the next day but it ends up changing most of the time…lol. Maybe you’ll inspire me to be more organized.

  4. I just signed up for your e-newsletter. I met you at the Marketplace where I was working. Crosby

  5. That’s quite the matrix you’ve got going on! I like the organization:)

Leave a Reply

