Hot Off The Press: 15K Training Program!!

I feel fantastic today!  I slept in this morning, waking up naturally at 7:30AM and then went back to sleep until 9:30AM.  After brushing my teeth and snuggling up on the couch, I poured myself a small bowl of Uncle Sam Strawberry cereal (thank you HLS Swag Bag!).  This cereal is very filling as it contains 8 grams of fiber and 7 grams of protein.

After breakfast I checked out some of my favorite blogs and hyped myself up for my run.  I absolutely love the weather post hurricane.  It’s still really windy but the clouds have moved out and there’s no rain.  It’s absolutely beautiful.  Today I ran for 30 minutes, just around the neighborhood and burned 303 calories.  I think I ran around 2.5 miles, but I’m not 100% sure.  It was a nice easy run and a great way to start my Sunday.

15K Training Program

September 2011

Week of

M

T

W

Th

F

S

Sn

Aug 29

20 min. E

Spin

2 miles E

Spin

20 min. E

Off

3 miles

Sept 5

20 min. E

Spin

2 miles E

Spin

20 min. E

Off

3 miles

Sept 12

20 min. E

Spin

2 miles E

Spin

25 min. E

Off

4 miles

Sept 19

20 min. E

Spin

3 miles T

Spin

30 min. E

Off

4 miles

Sept 26

20 min. E

Spin

3 miles H

Spin

30 min. E

Off

5 miles

October 2011

Week of

M

T

W

Th

F

S

Sn

Oct 3

20 min. E

Spin

3 miles P

Spin

35 min. H

Off

6 miles

Oct 10

30 min. E

Spin

4 miles T

Spin

35 min. E

Off

6 miles

Oct 17

30 min. E

Spin

4 miles H

Spin

40 min. E

Off

8 miles

Oct 24

30 min. E

Spin

3 miles P

Spin

30 min. H

Off

6 miles

Oct 31

30 min. E

Spin

4 miles T

Spin

40 min. E

Off

8 miles

 November 2011

Week of

M

T

W

Th

F

S

Sn

Nov 7

30 min. E

Spin

4 miles T

Spin

40 min. E

Off

10 miles

Nov 14

30 min. E

Spin

5 miles H

Spin

45 min. E

Off

10K Cranberry Crawl      6.2 miles

Nov 21

30 min. E

Spin

Off

Turkey Trot

5 miles

30 min. H

Off

8 miles

Nov 28

30 min. E

Spin

4 miles T

Spin

40 min. E

Off

15 K        Hot Choc. 9.3 miles

 December 2011

Week of

M

T

W

Th

F

S

Sn

Dec 5

30 min. E

Off

4 miles H

X-Train

50 min. E

Off

10 miles

Dec 12

30 min. E

Off

5 miles P

X-Train

45 min. H

Off

12 miles

Dec 19

30 min. E

Off

4 miles T

X-Train

50 min. E

Off

8 miles

Dec 26

30 min. E

Off

5 miles H

X-Train

30 min. E

Off

13 miles

Jan 2

30 min. E

Off

4 miles P

X-Train

40 min. H

Off

10 miles

 Run Legend


E:  Easy Run (30 sec. to 1 min. slower than goal pace)
P:  Pace Run (half marathon goal pace)
H:  Hill Run
T:  Tempo Run (15 to 30 seconds faster than goal pace)

I am extremely excited about this training program and about the two races I have on the agenda for November: the Cranberry Crawl and the Turkey Trot! I think I’m just really excited about the t-shirts… is that bad?

Running can be very challenging for me, so I like to do run/walk intervals when I am training for a long race.  When I ran the half marathon in 2010 I ran the entire race running 3 minutes and walking 1 minute.  One of my favorite running gadgets is the Gymboss ratio timer.  You can set this timer up to beep and/or vibrate on different intervals.  This helps me a lot mentally as I’m not looking at my watch every 30 seconds to see when I have to start running or walking.

If I am training on a 3:1 ratio, the Gymboss will buzz after 3 minutes and again after 1 minute.  I hope to extend my ratio this time around, maybe running on a 5:1 ratio for my long runs on Sunday.  I just ordered a new Gymboss as they now make them with a soft shell, and I bought pink of course!  I highly recommend this piece of equipment.

The rest of today looks to be rather mellow.  I need to do some more graduate work and could stand to clean my apartment a little.  Tonight, Neal and I are using a groupon we have for a Brazilian steakhouse!  I’m really excited.

Enjoy the last bit of your weekend and please stay safe if you’re in the path of Hurricane Irene!

8 Responses

  1. I’ve been reading about a lot more people running half marathons and even full marathons on intervals. It’s really freed me up to feel like a real runner even though I’m not running without stopping. Thanks for continuing to make me feel better about it! I’ve been experimenting with mine a little recently to get to my most comfortable interval to run longer distances.

  2. Such an inspiration! Way to go – a great plan. I wish I had your strength and motivation.

  3. […] Create a 15 K training program for Neal and I:  Yeppers!  Check it out! […]

  4. […] I’m also really looking forward to Sunday as Neal and I are going on a 3 mile run around town as part of our 15K training!! […]

  5. […] morning Neal and I met up for our weekly long run.  We’re in the beginning stages of our 15K training, so although we’ve run longer distances this summer, we had 3 miles scheduled for […]

  6. […] was not a loss by any means.  I rekindled my “love” for running and have started training for a 15K with Neal.  I also learned a lot about my body, my portion sizes, and what it’ll take to lose […]

Leave a Reply

