A New Hangout Spot!

Sunday turned out to be a fantastic day!  Now if you read yesterday’s post about being mentally defeated, my plan was to go to spin this morning… but when my alarm went off I decided a good nights rest was what I needed.  Instead of being discouraged, I just decided to go to the gym later in the day.

The first thing I did when I woke up this morning was to finalize my Healthy Living Summit ticket purchase!!  A fellow blogger wasn’t able to attend this year, so she sold me her ticket.  I am SO incredibly excited to attend and can’t wait to be in Philly this weekend!

After coming off of that high, Neal and I set out to run some errands.  Since moving to Alexandria I’ve driven past the same shopping center every time I’ve got to the grocery store.  I always see the sign for “Grounded Coffee” but for whatever reason, I’ve never stopped to check it out.  Well today, I took a leap and stopped by Grounded Coffee.  I was SO happy to see what I had found!

I had been looking for a coffee shop, other than Starbucks, that I could go to when I needed to get some graduate work done or just wanted to get away for a bit.

The shop was super cute, filled with lots of comfy chairs, couches, and tables.  It was very inviting and homey.  They served all sorts of pastries, sandwiches, hot drinks, cold drinks, smoothies, and ground coffee.

Check out those bags... those are "I need coffee stat" bags under my eyes"

With a hot skim chai latte in my hand, Neal and I headed off to the grocery store.  So what’s better than Goldfish crackers??  Whales of course, lol.  Neal and I thought this was super funny.

There was also an awful lot of fall and Halloween candy out already… hard to believe since it’s still August!  I feel like the summer always gets jipped but the fall is pretty awesome too!

Neal and I got back home around 3PM, giving me about 1.5 hours to put away groceries, run to the gym, shower and get ready for church… so that’s what I did!  The gym was fantastic.  I worked out on the elliptical for 30 minutes and burned 407 calories.  I then ran home (in my car), hopped in the shower, and raced to meet the gang for church.  After church, Neal, Liz, Matt, and I went to Coastal Flats.

My dinner was super yummy– chopped salad with carrots, radishes, roasted corn, grilled salmon, and a light ranch dressing.

Matt also ordered this rocking white chocolate bread pudding… it was amazing.

Matt and "Eric"

After dinner we played a game of Yahtzee on the iPad2 and I ran into Barnes and Nobles to see if Tina’s book “Carrots N Cake” was available… and it sure was!

All in all I had a fantastic weekend!  Plenty of rest, lots of time with friends, and got all of my to-dos accomplished!

The week ahead is organized and my #1 goal is to stick to my plan.  My meals are planned, my workouts are planned, and my second week at my new job should be fantastic!  I do not want to be mentally defeated this week, that is my mission!

Workout Breakfast Lunch Dinner Plans
Monday 30 minutes elliptical and weight lifting Homemade smoothie, apples Ham sandwich, carrot salad, plum Homemade pizza with chicken sausage Laundry!
Tuesday Spin Homemade smoothie, bagel thin post workout Leftover pizza, grapes Dinner at Guapos Hang out with old friend
Wednesday 30 minutes on treadmill and weight lifting Cereal with almond milk Greek pasta salad, plum Ham sandwich, grapes, apples for game Nationals baseball game
Thursday Cereal with almond milk Greek pasta salad, plum Stir-fry Final destination 5
Friday 30 minutes elliptical and weight lifting Homemade smoothie, grapes Leftover stir-fry, plum ?? HLS!

I hope each of you have a wonderful Monday!  How was your weekend?

4 Responses

  1. Aww yay! So glad you got a ticket!!

  2. I love how organized you are with your weekly meals! I always talk about how I’m going to plan ahead and then I never do. Looking forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

  3. […] need of some coffee.  I managed to roll out of bed at 5:30AM, keeping my promise to stick to my weekly plan!  With an iced coffee in one hand and a 30 pound bad over my shoulder, I made it to the door by […]

Leave a Reply

