A Cheesecake Kind of Day

Yesterday was a wonderful day!

Thursday night I went to bed around 10:30PM and naturally woke up at 6:30AM.  I love waking up naturally.  Without fail, I wake up at 7:30AM every Saturday and Sunday without an alarm.  It’s fantastic.  Unfortunately I have to be at the metro by 7:30AM at the latest, so I have to wake up to an alarm Monday through Friday.  Sometimes I think about how awesome it would be to be able to wake up without an alarm each morning, make coffee, go to the gym, and then head into work.

After work yesterday I picked up Matt (formally known as Nancy) and we headed down to Clarendon to meet Neal at Pete’s New Haven Style Pizza.  Last time we went to Pete’s it was so-so but this time we ordered the boola-boola pizza and it was FANTASTIC.  It has made with house-made meatballs, roasted peppers, caramelized onions, and cherry peppers.

(source)

After dinner we sat and chatted for a while and then headed over to The Cheesecake Factory.  Matt ordered the chocolate mousse cheesecake, Neal ordered the key lime cheesecake, and I ordered the brownie sundae cheesecake.  We then headed over to Starbucks to enjoy our awesome desserts.

I know this picture doesn’t show proof of this, but the STAR in Starbucks was burnt out so the sign just read BUCKS COFFEE… I thought it was just too funny.  Starbucks is getting so expensive, but with one on every corner in Arlington, it’s awfully convenient.

After settling in on the patio we started eating our glorious pieces of cheesecake.

Matt was pretty stinkin’ excited about his chocolate mousse cheesecake!

It was the perfect ending to a wonderful week!  I’m so grateful for my new job and for the wonderful people I have met.  I’m just so excited about the future; working, finishing graduate school, growing closer to Neal, and having a blast with our friends and family.  Life. Is. Good.

Weekend Breakdown

Saturday

Sunday

  • Run with Neal or possibly the gym
  • Pool time with Liz and Felanie (nickname) depending on the weather
  • Laundry!!
  • Trying out a new recipe?

What’s your favorite kind of cheesecake?

 

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a great weekend too me – I think mind is similar! I wish I had a pool to get some pool time in though!

Leave a Reply

