AM or PM Blogging?

AM verses PM, that is the question.

For some time, I’ve been thinking about whether it’s best to blog in the morning or at night (both personally and for my readers).

(source)

Since I started Coffee Cake and Cardio, I’ve enjoyed posting each morning.  Sometimes I start a blog the night before and schedule it to be posted the next morning.  As my schedule changes, posting before work has become a bit more difficult.  I enjoy writing at night, but I feel like most readers look forward to a new blog each morning.

The blogs I read are very diverse in the scheduling of their postings.  Some bloggers post multiple times a day (Cait’s Plate, Carrots ‘N’ Cake, Faith Fitness Fun, Kath Eats Real Food, Meals and MilesPeanut Butter Fingers, Running Around Normal).  Other bloggers post once a day; some in the morning (fANNEtastic food, Fitness Food Fashion) and some at night (Iowa Girl Eats)… just to name a few.

I know it’s different for each person and totally depends on your lifestyle, but I wanted to ask:

For Bloggers

  1. When do you post to your blog?

  2. Do you write ahead of time and then schedule your post?

  3. What helped you decided when to post during the day?

For Readers

  1. Do you like reading blogs that are posted in the morning or at night?

  2. When do you tend to read blogs?  Morning?  Afternoon?  Night?

6 Responses

  1. As a newbie blogger, I…
    1. usually post in the morning
    2. often have multiple Drafts completed, then Publish at a later time
    3. post based on the convenience with my daily schedule

    As a newbie blog reader, I…
    1. have to say it does not really matter to me when a blog has been posted
    2. read blogs anytime I can find the time throughout the day or evening

  2. As a blogger:
    1. I post whenever, but I tend towards morning.
    2. I have tons of partial written drafts about specific topics, but I tend to either write new posts and publish at once or finish drafts and then publish. I usually only pre-publish if I’m away.
    3. It’s whenever I have enough time to devote to a post, because I hate posting just to post.

    As a reader:
    1. I don’t tend to notice either way.
    2. I read whenever I’ve got time. I don’t have a set work schedule so it’s whenever I can fit it in with school, work and exercise!

  3. I didn’t know you could schedule posts! How do you do that?
    I like to post personal things in the morning, recipes in the evening, but that is just me!

  4. Aw thanks for the link! I (obviously) post 3 times a day but I definitely don’t stress about it. If I can only get 2 posts up, then that’s all I do! I think the most important thing is making sure your blog is bringing you pleasure rather than stress 🙂

Leave a Reply

