The Care Package

After getting back from Las Vegas late on Monday night, I decided to use Tuesday to get a few things done before starting my new job.  The first to do on the list, sleeping in!! Oh yeah!  I’m sure the gym would have been better for my body, but it was so nice getting a few extra hours of sleep.

(source)

After cleaning up, I made my way down to my mail box before heading out to run errands.  I was excited to see the latest issues of Prevention, Everyday Food, and Wholeliving Magazine in my mailbox.  It’s kinda fun returning to a full mailbox (sans bills).  In addition, I had TWO package slips.  I was expecting one package, but not two!!

(source)

Package #1:  Contained my textbooks for the fall semester along with my new Kansas State hoodie!!  I can not wait for football season to start, for the cool weather to arrive, and for hoodie wearing to commence.  I LOVE HOODIES!!

(source)

Package #2: As soon as I saw the handwriting I knew it was from my Mommy!!!  She’s just too sweet.  She sent me a “congrats on your new job package”, along with a framed copy of my sister’s senior picture.  It was a wonderful surprise.  SO what did she send me?  VERA BRADLEY goodies!!

She got me the Ditty Bag, Tech Case, and Eyeglasses Case in Happy Snails.   I was just so encouraged and it was a great way to start off my Tuesday morning.

I then ventured into DC and headed to Salon Amarti to get my haircut.  Wizard and I had Groupons from there and I was just a week shy of my Groupon expiring (eek) so I had to go in.  I decided to get partial highlights and a trim (all included in the groupon).  The stylist/owner was really nice but I can’t say that I left looking all that different.  I really wanted to get my hair thinned out, as it gets super thick, but the stylist just didn’t seem to understand what I was looking for.  As for the highlights….

Sadness.  My roots are still super dark.  I’m new to the whole highlighting thing, but seriously, there’s no way this guy didn’t think “uhhh this doesn’t look right”.  Oh well.  It’ll do for now and I’ll just have to make a hair appointment for September.  Truthfully, I wish I could just fly my hair stylist from Texas, Eduardo, here every 6-8 weeks 🙂 That would be AWESOME!

After getting my hair done I headed over to Trader Joe’s for some grocery shopping.  I didn’t really have a list, but when I saw the pollo asada I knew it was a Mexican food kind of night!

(source)

I love Mexican food!! Love, love, love!! I’m pretty sure I could have it every single day and be super happy.  I know this is TMI, but I swear I crave Mexican food the full week before my period.   Refried beans…. grilled onions…. salsa…. CHEESE… oh man, I totally want some now.

I started out by sauteing the chicken breasts in a non-stick skillet.  These chicken breasts were butterflied pretty thin, so they only took about 5-7 minutes on each side.

After slicing up the chicken, I toasted some corn tortillas on the gas burner (totally felt like a chef as I see them do this all the time on TV) and then began building my tacos.  Corn tortillas topped with chicken, cheese, chipotle salsa, sour cream, and lettuce.  DIVINE!

Neal was pretty happy too!

I too felt great… full belly, great company, and my new job just 10 hours away.

My first day of work was awesome!  After work I headed to the gym and had a fantastic workout.

I decided to lift before doing cardio, for whatever reason, and felt great.  I just needed to get a really good lift in.

  • 4×10 seated squats
  • 4×8 seated overhead press
  • 4×20 crunches
  • 2×10 (each leg) single leg squats with bicep curls
  • 4×8 bench and triceps dip combo (laying on bench)
  • 4×20 leg raises (left, middle, right)

I then ran/walked for 30 minutes on the treadmill.  It was a great workout and I’m looking forward to spin class this morning.

Happy Thursday everyone!!

Leave a Reply

