Florida Keys: Day 1

Neal and I have been in Florida since Wednesday.  Wednesday morning we made our way to the airport; settled in and grabbed some Dunkin’ Donuts.

Ok, not the healthiest start to the vacation but sometimes a girl just needs a chocolate cake donut.

Our flight was delayed a good hour and a half or so but we got into West Palm Beach safely and began our drive down to the keys.  Now I’m not sure  the last time you rented a car, but paying 12 extra dollars a day to have two drivers just isn’t worth it… so I volunteered to be the only driver.  I really enjoy driving, but driving down Rt. 1 in Miami was just about pure torture.  Stop light after stop light… It took forever to get out of Miami.

By 4PM we were pretty hungry, so we searched trip advisor on Neal’s android and found this awesome Mexican restaurant in Homestead, FL called Taqueria Morelia.

Neal opted for the chorizo burrito where as I had the carne asada burrito… just what I needed, IRON!!

Once in the keys, we drove around a bit and took a few photos on the beach.  It was absolutely breathtaking!

I’m so happy to be here, right now!  Things have been pretty stressful these past few weeks.  With graduate school coming to a close for the summer and things being up in the air with my job search, I’ve been living in a stressful limbo.  Being able to go on vacation has been really beneficial and I’m really grateful for this time away and to be with Neal.

After settling into our super cute hotel, Neal and I headed out to find some Key Lime Pie.  We found the Conch House which was recently featured on Man vs. Food!!  We ordered the famous conch fritters and 2 pieces of key lime pie to go.

I was pretty happy and was looking forward to changing Neal’s opinion of Key Lime Pie!!

So you might be wondering, “what could possibly make this day any better?”.  A killer sunset!  You guessed it!

The mosquitoes were pretty bad, but this sunset was well worth it!

I also loved the adirondack chairs.  It’s the little things in life I tell ya.

Overall, day 1 was fantastic!!  Wednesday was a long day, but there’s nothing better than going on vacation and settling in.  Check out the day 2 recap soon… a day trip down to Key West!

2 Responses

  1. I love the chairs too! Except when I was pregnant…then it was just embarassing getting out of them!

Leave a Reply

