Finding My Match

On July 11, 2009 I received an e-mail on match.com from ehawk.  The name rang a bell but it wasn’t until I read his message that it all clicked.

“Hello! I’m new to match but I saw you checked out my profile, hopefully it didn’t scare you off.

I think we would get along quite well. Honestly, there’s not a lot not to like about your profile and how you describe yourself. I mean, who wouldn’t like a sports fan that loves Tommy Boy? And since you have season Nats tickets, I’m sure you’ve met my boy Teddy. 😉 By the way, which sport did you play in college? Just curious.

Anyway, this is my way of saying that you seem like a lot of fun. If you have any questions, comments, or rude remarks for me, don’t be afraid to fire a few my way. 😉

Most importantly, have a great day! Take care.”

OMG— I totally stalked this guy’s profile and he caught me!!  I was so embarrassed but I had to roll with it…. so I wrote him back.

“Well hey there “new to match”! So you stalked me stalking you? (I’m using stalking very lightly lol).  You do sound like a lot of fun and I did enjoy reading your profile.  I think you’re right though, I think we would get along well.

Well welcome to match. I am new as well… The world of match can be an interesting one.  Have a great saturday… I’m at the elton john/ billy joel concert tonight. — Ashley”

Little did I know that ehawk was at that same Elton John/Billy Joel concert and that our first date would be in that same stadium a few weeks later.  July 11, 2009 was the first of many e-mails and thankfully 2 years later, I’m still e-mailing with that man… my awesome boyfriend (BF), Neal.

4 Responses

  1. Awww this is such a cute story 🙂

  2. So cute! I haven’t ever done it, but I think online dating is safer than meeting people in clubs.
    As an aside, I love your blog and have been creeping out on it for a while! I am looking for some people to do a guest post while I am on vacation, would you be interested? Let me know!

  3. Love this! I always love hearing stories like this. So fun and nice to know things like this can work. My brother-in-law and sister-in-law met through eharmony or something and are so great together.

  4. […] years ago today, Neal and I went on our first date at the Nationals ballpark.  As I shared the other day, Neal and I met through Match.com and have been happily dating […]

Leave a Reply

