Spin Class From Hell

I love going to spin on Tuesday mornings and have gone every week for the past 3 months except for when I was sick.  I have been to the Thursday morning class a few times before, but wasn’t too fond of the instructor.  She was nice, but her style was a little too “whimsical” for me… I like being able to picture myself on the road, but I don’t want to feel like I’m in therapy.

source

Since I’ve been feeling better, I had the urge last night to go to spin this morning.  I packed my bag, laid out my gym clothes and went to bed by 10:30PM.  I was ready to go!!

This morning I struggled to get up, but hey, that’s why I set the alarm for 30 minutes before I realllly want to get up that way I can snooze 3-5 times.  Snoozing is my one of my favorite pastimes.  Once I was up and ready to go, I made myself a nice iced coffee and headed out.  The weather was absolutely gorgeous this morning in Washington, DC.  It was in the low 60’s with a slight breeze.  My walk to the metro was FANTASTIC!!

Source

When I got to the gym I was elated surprised to see a new spin instructor!  Brad was extremely nice off the bat.  He introduced himself and made an effort to get to know me and my classmates.  We settled in and started to warm up.  I knew it was going to be an awesome class when he turned on his ipod… nothing better than rap/hip-hop/pop music!!

But then…. the class took a turn.  The AC clearly wasn’t working and when we moved right into hills on our second song, I knew this class was going to kick my ass!  My heart rate shot up and I was pooped already.  Brad is fond of calling people out during class and I’m sure my red face lead him to say “you’re doing great Ashley”.  He was super intense and really pushed us to intensify our workout.  I honestly don’t think it would have been that bad, but the studio was hot as hell.  I seriously don’t think I’ve EVER sweat that much in a class.

Source

Halfway through the class I seriously contemplated getting off my of bike and throwing my body into the ice machine.  It was hot!

source

Ok— I know I’m being a tad dramatic!  It really was a fantastic class and I really love the new instructor.  Brad is a keeper!!  A total plus was that I burned 932 calories this morning!  That is well worth the sweat, tears, and fears.  Overall I feel great and am so glad I went this morning!

What class or workout kicks your ass?

3 Responses

  1. SPIN!! I did it once and it was SO hard! I thought I was in shape until I took that class. I haven’t gone back again…haha

  2. I’ve never done spin, but it sounds so fun. I currently only go to classes offered for free at school, because I refuse to pay for a gym membership until I have to 🙂 I do road and mountain bike (well, I used to before I moved to Asheville and got scared to do it alone!) though, which is a super fun time!

    I’ve been to some seriously intense vinyasa classes that I just wanted to drop into child’s pose and die, haha.

Leave a Reply

