Will Run For Chocolate

Last week I got an e-mail announcing a new race being held in DC this winter.  My BF and I were hoping to run the Las Vegas half marathon in December this year, but with a lot on the docket we thought a trip to Vegas in between the holidays may not be the best idea. So when I opened my e-mail last week and saw the words Will Run for Chocolate! I got incredibly excited!!

The race is being held December 3, 2011 at the National Harbor, which is about 4 miles away from my home!!   They are offering both a 5K  and a 15K race.  In my opinion, 15K is just about the perfect distance for me.  It’s a long run but still short enough to push yourself. When I ran the Country Music Half Marathon in 2010, I remember looking at the 10 mile marker and thinking “this would be the perfect distance”.  Granted it may have been because 10 miles at that time was super easy since I was training for the half marathon.

There are also some ROCKING gift bags, woop woop and Ghirardelli hot chocolate… so you know we signed up!!  My BF and I both signed up along with Wizard and Nancy!!  It’s going to be a lot of fun and I’m excited to have something to train for.

What motivates you to sign up for a race?  Do you have any fun races coming up this year?  Are you looking to run your first race?

3 Responses

  1. Oooh chocolate would most definitely motivate me! I usually just do it because I’m super competitive though 🙂

  2. […] a training program for the Will Run For Chocolate 15K Neal and I are running in […]

  3. […] Training for Hot Chocolate 15K  […]

Leave a Reply

