Scaleless Summer Update

On June 21, 2011 I began my Scaleless Summer!  At first it was really hard to let go of the numbers and my fixation with my scale.  I had a hard time at first, but then I realized how freeing it can be to live life without my scale.

This summer has been really busy, so I feel like I haven’t had time to focus on food.  I know that might sound off, but sometimes I can be overly focused on food which can lead to overeating and being consumed with my body.  Being busy has been beneficial because I’ve been able to focus on work, graduate school, and my job interviews.  Eating has been more about nutrients and satisfying my body’s needs instead of being about flavors, ingredients, trying new things, and volume.

This summer I’ve really been enjoying eating homemade smoothies (though I’ve had to limit my dairy intake the past week or so).  There’s just something so refreshing about an ice-cold smoothie at the start of the day…. absolutely fantastic!  One thing I’m really trying to focus on is to have at least half of my plate be made up of either fruits or vegetables.  Focusing on this has really helped me to limit my calorie intake and has left me feeling revived.  It’s such a small change, but it will make a huge impact on your diet.

This summer so far has also been filled with lots of outings (Nationals games, Farmers Markets, date nights) and lots of yummy meals out.  Moderation has really been key when eating out.  It is really tough for me to do, but I have to stop myself when I start to feel satisfied.  This has got to be one of the hardest things for me, leaving food on my plate, but you know what… I feel so much better stopping myself and leaving food on my plate than when I overeat.

Working out has been a challenge for me so far this month (July) but I equate that to 1. needing sleep 2. having too many things to do after work.  I’m not bummed about it, but I do look forward to getting back on track and getting back into my morning workout routine.  Sometimes you just need sleep… it is what it is.

In the end… LIFE IS GREAT!!! And I’ve got to tell you, I feel so free living life scaleless.  Making small changes and listening to your body is so important and you know what, it doesn’t matter what the scale says daily.  What really matters is what your weight over the course of time.  Have you gained weight or have you lost weight?  Do you feel great or do you feel down?  Are you energetic or are you worn down?

What’s working for me:

1.  Planning your workouts out ahead of time (gets me excited)

2.  Have half of your plate consist of fruits and/or vegetables

3.  Be ok with where you’re at in life… if you’re busy, you’re busy.  Things will normalize soon!!

What’s working for you?

2 Responses

  1. Even thought I am extra-busy in the summer with entertaining-type activities, I’m off of work, so that frees up my time a little. What’s working for me is: running around after the twins (that so totally is an extra workout, believe me!), and making sure we do at least 45 minutes of cardio/strength/yoga at night. I need to keep well-balanced to be successful. As far as eating, I’m less bored (not being at work) so I eat less, but if I feel hungry I really think about why….and try to have a healthy snack like yogurt. Seems to be working so far!

  2. […] I continued my scaleless summer […]

Leave a Reply

