Defining Breakfast

Good afternoon everyone and Happy Monday!

I have to say, it has been a fantastic day so far!  And here’s a sneak peak at why it has been so great so far….

This morning, My BF had a 7AM dentist appointment  (I know! Who has a 7AM dentist appointment?) so we were able to metro together.  We met up around 5:45 and headed off to the metro.  I was at the gym by 6:45, giving me plenty of time to lift weights, run on the treadmill, and workout my abs (I know they are under there somewhere).

Weight training this morning was good.  I used 8 machines, doing 3 sets of 10.  I worked out my inner thighs, outer thighs, triceps, biceps, quads, laterals, and pecs.  Although I enjoy a good weight training session with free weights, its good to use the weight machines some days as they are set up to work various muscles, taking out the need to think.

The treadmill was ok this morning.  I ended up running for only 20 minutes but hey, I ran 20 minutes.  There’s something to be said about exercise classes.  When I take classes, I am engaged and committed to the 60-90 minute class.  It’s no walk in the park, but the fact that you’re in the class for a set amount of time ensures that you will burn 60-90 minutes worth of calories.  Plus with my FT7, I’m able to see how many calories I actually burned during the class.  In the end though, I stuck to my plan, woop woop!

After my workout I was super hungry.  I had a bowl of Weetabix before I left home this morning, but after an hour long workout, I’m ready for some more food.  As I’ve shared a few times, I haven’t quite figured out my breakfasts since switching from PM to AM workouts.  I know I need protein, but what can sit in my bag for 2-3 hours without getting nasty?

Well this morning it hit me!  What if I buy some Greek yogurt to leave at work along with some granola and agave nectar?  So I skipped over to Whole Foods and picked up a few things.

I also saw that Justin’s nut butters were on sale ($.79-$.99 depending on the flavor) so I picked up a few packets.  I think these will be perfect with an apple and some celery.  The packets also help to control my portion sizes, which is always a plus!

I walked away from Whole Foods with Fage fat-free Greek Yogurt, Back-to-Nature’s Sunflower and Pumpkin Seed Granola, Organic Agave Syrup, and 3 packets of Justin’s Nut Butter.

My post workout snack was fantastic.  It really hit the spot and had 14 grams of protein in it! All in all, it has been a great Monday so far.  I haven’t decided on my Meatless Monday dinner yet, but this article gave me some great ideas.

Happy Monday!  I hope it goes by quickly for you!

4 Responses

  1. Gina at Fitnessista makes amazeballs, which are like protein powder &nut butter balls (with other ingredients) that could help hold you over, or I wonder if you ate something higher in protein (like Greek yogurt or a protein shake) before you worked out and saved the cereal for after?

  2. I always cart around a hard boiled egg or two, but I know not everyone likes them. But they usually help satiate me when eaten with carbs.

Leave a Reply

