On My Way…To Straight Teeth

After years of debate and with the support of my awesome BF, I decided to get Invisalign!  Like many, I had braces when I was a teen and after 2 horrible glorious years, I had perfectly straight teeth.  Having braces was no walk in the park for me.  I had to have a spacer put in, with a key crank, which widened my jaw.  Rubber band after rubber band, I eventually ended up with straight teeth!  Unfortunately, I was a lazy kid and never wore my retainer.  12 years later, I look back and wish I had been more disciplined.

Quite the Difference

But, all  I can do is move forward and I am SOOO excited to have received my first set of Invisalign trays today.  When I first decided to get Invisalign, the dentist took molds of my teeth and had them sent into the Invisalign company.  The dentist said it would take 6-8 weeks to receive the trays, but just 2 weeks after my first visit he called to say that everything was ready. This morning the dentist prepped my teeth for the trays, which more or less look like mouth guards.

Waiting for the dentist

About 10 minutes later I was out the door and on my way to straighter teeth!  I am so excited and can’t wait to see the results.

And they're in... can you see them?

So here’s how it works… though every patient is different, I have 8 trays for my upper teeth and 12 trays for my lower teeth.  I will put in a new set of trays every 2 weeks and will meet with the dentist throughout the process.  I will need to wear the trays pretty much 24 hours a day, except when I need to eat.  When I need to eat, I simply remove the trays, eat my meal, brush/floss, and then put the trays back in.  Now I can already tell you… this is going to change more than just my teeth!

Invisalign Trays

Things that will change due to Invisalign

  • Snacking will be reduced because who wants to brush/floss every time they put something in their mouth?
  • Diet soda and coffee drinking will be reduced (unless consumed with a meal) because again, who wants to brush/floss every time they drink something?  You also are not able to drink hot beverages with the trays in.
  • My nails are going to look AWESOME!  No nail biting… you just can’t do it with the trays in.
  • My dental health is going to improve!

I should finish my Invisalign plan in 6-8 months and am absolutely thrilled!

Have you ever had braces or Invisalign?  Any stories?

3 Responses

  1. […] by pretty quickly, which was awesome!!  I’m not sure if it was the excitement of getting Invisalign or if it was the workload, either way, the day went by pretty fast.  I had planned to workout […]

  2. […] a berry smoothie.  It was so refreshing…. but the seeds were a bit much.  As I now have Invisalign, having to deal with all those seeds before putting my trays back in was a bit of a hassle this […]

  3. […] should be a great day.  First on the agenda, getting my next few sets of Invisalign trays.  I am 6 trays in, so halfway done with my bottom teeth and 1/3 way done with my top!  After work […]

Leave a Reply

