A Traveling Meatless Monday

As I danced around in a beautiful dream, a piercing sound filled the air.  What was this noise and why was it ruining my dance.  A few moments later I came to my senses and realized it was not a dream but rather my alarm clock.  Was it really 3:45AM?  Why was it going off?  Why can’t I just sleep?  And then it hit me… I have to get to the airport.

Bright and early this morning I began my journey back to DC.  I arrived at the airport at 4:45AM, checked my bag, went through security and then made my way to Starbucks.  It wasn’t much of a surprise to see a line of 25 people, but at 5:10AM, a line at Starbucks is worth it!

Line to Starbucks

I ordered a grande coffee and added 2 packets of splenda and a little half and half.  I settled into my gate and nestled up to my warm cup of Joe.  I didn’t grab anything to eat as it was still really early but anticipated needing something when I got back to DC.  Today is my first Meatless Monday and I’m looking forward to trying out new recipes and pushing myself out of my comfort zone.  I highly doubt I’ll try a new recipe tonight, as I just got back to DC, but there will be some new recipes in the upcoming weeks.

After landing, I stopped by a Panera and grabbed a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich.  It’s loaded with lots of yummy veggies, feta cheese and a pesto spread.  It’s one of my favorites…. regardless of Meatless Monday.

Yummy, yummy, in my tummy!

I’m not sure what this afternoon/evening will hold.  I’m sure I’ll have a coke zero in my future and another coffee… but I’m not sure about dinner.  Either way, it’s good to be home!

So Cute!

What’s your favorite Meatless Meal?

Leave a Reply

