Portion Sizes

This weekend, while shopping at the outlets, I came across these super cute bowls… but they were half the size of my regular cereal bowls.  It got me thinking, “how would my eating change if I just used smaller bowls?”.  Sometimes its just habit to fill a cereal bowl to the rim and to eat it all.  Using a smaller bowl will help me to think about my portion sizes and to stick to my weekly points allowance.

This morning I broke out my new bowls and served myself a serving size of cereal.  Had I placed it in my old cereal bowl, it would have looked like nothing, but it in new bowl the cereal filled about 3/4 of the bowl.

Serving sizes can be quite the challenge for me.  Hopefully using bowls like this and even smaller plates will help me to develop better habits and learn moderation.

old cereal bowl on left, new cereal bowl on right

old cereal bowl on left, new cereal bowl on right

Leave a Reply

