I Heart Breakfast!

I love breakfast!  I have never struggled with eating breakfast and am happy to eat breakfast foods any time of the day.  I go through phases, craving cereal, oatmeal, and egg dishes at different times of the month.  This morning I made an egg white scramble with peas, carrots, mushrooms, and turkey bacon.  For only 3 points plus, it was a great way to start the day.

I began by sauteing mushrooms with a little bit of non-stick cooking spray.  Roughly 2 minutes later, I added 2 slices of chopped turkey bacon to the pan.  I allowed the bacon to brown and then added 1/4 cup of frozen peas and corn.

While the peas and corn were cooking, I whisked 3 egg whites together with 1 tsp of fat free half and half (I didn’t have any skim milk) and salt and pepper to taste.

I then added the egg white mixture to the pan, allowing it to cook for about 30 minutes before mixing.  One thing Paula Deen taught me is to push the eggs from the outside of the pan to the inside.  Stirring makes the eggs chewy and can lead to over cooking.

Roughly 2 minutes later the eggs were cooked and ready to be enjoyed!

And voila!! Enjoy!

What’s your favorite breakfast food?

Leave a Reply

